All posts by kathykash

Ruhl, Starkman named APS Fellows

John Ruhl has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society “for his fundamental experimental contributions to the study of the cosmic microwave background radiation.”
Glenn Starkman has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society “for his wide-ranging and creative contributions to particle astrophysics, including explorations of the possibility of non-trivial topology in the universe, and uncovering unexpected features in the cosmic microwave background fluctuations at large angular scales.”
Read more here.

Akerib, Starkman make APS News in 2004

Among the American Physical Society’s report of top physics news stories of 2004, as reported in the February 2005 APS news, are the work of Dan Akerib and colleagues at CDMS in producing the world’s best direct detection limit on WIMP dark matter candidates, and the work of Glenn Starkman and colleagues showing that the Universe is at least 25 Gigaparsecs in size. Read more here.

Ruhl appointed to SCAR for 6 year term

John Ruhl has been appointed by the Polar Research Board (a unit of the National Academies) to a 6-year term as one of the twelve US Representatives (four in each of Life sciences, Geosciences, and Physical Sciences) to SCAR, the international “Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research”. The mission of this organization is noted on its web site: “SCAR is charged with the initiation, promotion and coordination of scientific research in Antarctica. It also provides scientific advice to the Antarctic Treaty System.”

2003 Price Institute Innovative Entrepreneurship Educators Award

October 23, 2003
Case’s Physics Entrepreneurship Program was recognized as a national leader in entrepreneurship education when the program received the Price Institute Innovative Entrepreneurship Educators Award during the prestigious Roundtable on Entrepreneurship Education (REE) held at Stanford University. REE gathers top business, science and engineering faculty from leading universities in the United States to accelerate entrepreneurship education for scientists and engineers.
The award, in its second year, recognizes the nation’s most innovative college entrepreneurship programs for scientists and engineers.