All posts by kathykash

Akerib named APS Fellow

Daniel Akerib, chair of the Department of Physics, has been named a Fellow of the American Physical Society in honor of his work in experimental particle astrophysics. The citation reads “for significant contributions to direct dark matter detection experiments, in particular for his work on the CDMS experiment.”

Akerib wins Jackson Award

Daniel Akerib was honored with the 2007 J. Bruce Jackson, M.D., Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring. From the anonymous nomination: “Professor Akerib is well known to physics students due to his sincere willingness to go beyond the role of instructor to help his students.” More

Case’s Physics department ranked in the top 10% of all U.S. Physics Ph.D. programs

Academic Analytics, LLC has released details of their 2006 survey “Faculty Scholar Productivity Index,” part of which was published in the Chronicle of Higher Education. The survey rates departmental faculties (on a per faculty basis) on items such as publications, citations, research grants, and awards. Of the 172 Ph.D. physics departments in the U.S., Case’s Physics Department ranks 16th place.

Fickinger’s History of CWRU Physics published

“Physics at a Research University: Case Western Reserve University 1830-1990″ is a history of the physics research done by the faculty and students of CWRU and its parent institutions. Highlights of the work done by over 100 researchers are described at a level so that the general reader can understand qualitatively how and why the research was done, and the more technical reader can appreciate some more quantitative details. The book ends with a “post-script” which describes research performed from 1990 to 2005. Lists of the names of physics graduates, including titles of graduate theses, appear as indices.
The book is available at the CWRU Bookstore. To order call

Brown wins Wittke Award

Robert Brown and Laura Tartakoff were chosen from a field of 64 nominees as the winners of the Carl F. Wittke Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. Brown, a physics professor, was described by his nominator as “the epitome of what professors should be and how we should advertise our faculty to the world.” More here.

Brown named Forman Lecturer

Robert Brown, Institute Professor in the Physics Department, was named Forman Lecturer for 2006 at Vanderbilt University, a position focused on physics education. He delivered the Forman Lecture at Vanderbilt on March 2 entitled “An Evolutionary Gap in Teaching Introductory Physics: An Intelligent Design?” He also delivered an associated Forman lecture on “A Simple View of MRI, and its Increasingly Rich View of Us and Our Brain,” at Vanderbilt on March 3.

Brown named Cherry Award finalist

Robert Brown has been named a finalist for the 2006 Cherry National Teaching Award being given by Baylor University.
Three finalists for the Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching have been chosen from the field of nominees. Each finalist will receive $15,000 and will be invited to present a series of lectures at Baylor University in the fall of 2005. In addition, the home department of the finalists will receive $10,000 to foster the development of pedagogical skills.
The final winner of the Cherry Award, announced in Spring 2006, will receive an award of $200,000, and an additional $25,000 for his or her home department.