physics resources

physics resourceseventsmichelson postdoctoral prize lectureship

Michelson Postdoctoral Prize Lectureship

We invite you to submit a nomination for the nineteenth annual Michelson Postdoctoral Prize Lectureship, to be held Fall 2016 in the Dept of Physics, Case Western Reserve University. This prize is awarded annually to a junior postdoctoral scholar active in any field of physics. The winner will spend one week in residence at Case and deliver 3 technical lectures and a colloquium. The lectureship carries an honorarium of $1500 plus all travel expenses.

Details are included below and can also be found in the March 2016 issue of Physics Today and Physics Today online. The deadline for nomination is April 8, 2016.

Harsh Mathur
Chair, Michelson Prize Lectureship Committee
Department of Physics
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, Ohio 44106-7079

Previous winners:

1997: Thomas Walther
1998: Christopher A. Fuchs
1999: Joseph Mohr
2000: Keith Schwab
2001: Jonathan Feng
2002: Re'em Sari
2003: Brian DeMarco
2004: Karsten Heeger
2005: Yaroslav Tserkovnyak
2006: Nicole Bell
2007: Adam Bolton
2008: Roberto Trotta
2009: Jonathan Alwall
2010: David Hanneke
2011: Lindley Winslow
2012: Kin Fai Mak
2013: Wei-Cheng Lee
2014: Amar Vutha
2015: Michael Hatridge


Nominees must have been awarded a PhD between 8/1/2008 and 8/31/2015, and as of April 8, 2016 may not hold any tenured, tenure-track or equivalent position.


One letter of nomination and two letters of support from ineligible scientists, at least one employed at an institution other than the nominee's. The letters should address the nominee's scientific accomplishments and promise and ability to communicate effectively. Nominees should submit a CV and an outline of their talks.


Please send all material in PDF format via email to 

Inquiries may be made by

	  FAX: 216-368-4671
	  Phone: 216-368-4257

Deadline for receipt of nominations: April 8, 2016.